Donkey Thoughts with Nick Offerman
Donkey Thoughts with Nick Offerman
I'll hush up my mug if you'll fill up my jug
13
0:00
-8:53

I'll hush up my mug if you'll fill up my jug

With that good ol' mountain dew
13

Neil Freeburn asks, “Hello Mr Nick. I'm a 37 year old male from Co Antrim in Northern Ireland..near Bushmills, you may have heard of it. I'll cut to the chase: my friend (we'll call him Philip) has told me for years to watch Parks and Recreation..I haven't really done that..he then suggested I listen to Donkey Thoughts...and I have. I've enjoyed what I can hear, the problem I'm having is, are the episodes recorded at an incredibly low volume or am I losing my ability to hear Americans? I turn it up full on my phone and in my work van (I am an electrical underground cable jointer...I thought you might like to know that. So there you go..) and I still really struggle to hear a lot of your words. Can you help me? Thanking you, Neil”

Neil, thank you for your question, and apologies for any technical troubles on my end. If anyone else is struggling with volume, please sound off in the comments, and I’ll do my best to remedy.

Early on, a commenter complained about the poor sound quality with specific regard to my sibilant S’s, so I began using a microphone that plugs directly into my iPhone. I’ll try an experiment when I record this to see if it’s the mic. I wonder if you have the same volume issue with my audio posts and my video posts alike? If so, then it’s likely not an equipment issue on my end, but something in the infrastructure.

Speaking of, I’m particularly sorry to disappoint a person performing such valuable labor as yourself. I have a profound respect and gratitude to the folks who knit our modern world together, and keep the lights on. Getting a laugh or nod of approval (or a “ta”?) from an underground cable jointer takes me back to the years I spent earning my living as a carpenter, and the value I placed on entertaining my fellow tradesmen and women.

While the percentages are real, I snatched this image randomly off of social media without notating the original poster. A Google Image search bore no fruit. I think it’s from one of those A.I. programs that are so popular right now. In any case, I apologize for lacking the appropriate credit, and if anybody knows who did this, please holler.

I’m also chagrined because we might well be cultivated from the same patch of emerald over there, going back a few generations. According to my latest Ancestry.com rundown, I’m more Irish than anything else. And I have enjoyed my share of Bushmill’s, thank you kindly. While I have never complained at that particular poteen, my peatier preference lies about 66 miles straight north from you, on the southern coast of Islay.

If you and Philip are still on speaking terms after this post, I’ll raise a glass to you both and say thanks for your good work. Cheers.

Love,

People of the mule barn, thanks for bearing with my goofy schedule, as I travel and jape, and offer up my Donkey Thoughts willy-nilly. These audio posts are free, and the videos generally require a toll, although not always, because I am frankly not super-good at business. Let’s be kind, what say.

13 Comments
Donkey Thoughts with Nick Offerman
Donkey Thoughts with Nick Offerman
More Carrots, Less Sticks
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Nick Offerman
Recent Episodes
  Nick Offerman
  Nick Offerman
  Nick Offerman