Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
9

Duran Duran & Adam Ant

Should have been mentioned.
9

Cole Calfee from Nashville, Tennessee, writes, “I’m 27 years old and worried that people of my generation don’t believe in the power of poetry. Do you have any favorite poems?”

Cole, thank you very much for this question. As a working artist whose main vocation is communicating the writing of others to an audience in the hope of achieving some medicinal effect or other, I feel very strongly about the poetry in which I’m lucky enough to swim every day. For example, I can just sit and read Laurie Anderson or Jeff Tweedy lyrics and swoon. Those two poets have even been so kind as to set their poems to music for us.

I’m not a particularly deep diver when it comes to “legit” poems, but here are a couple that have always thrilled me. You could do a lot worse than packing a copy of Mary Oliver’s American Primitive out to your favorite sycamore and soak in some of that language.

Here’s her “Instructions for living a life:

Instructions for living a life.
Pay attention.
Be astonished.
Tell about it.

And I have always adored these 16 beautifully simple words from William Carlos Williams. A reminder to worry less about shopping.

The Red Wheelbarrow:

so much depends

upon

a red wheel

barrow

glazed with rain

water

beside the white

chickens

Found this lovely illustration at English Teachers Everywhere

Love,

My generous muleteers, thank you for leaving me a question in the comments. They are the veritable carrot-like fuel that powers the sputtering engine of this here Substack!

If you can’t afford a full subscription, you can catch a lot of free jazz on here, and if you can afford the legit stipend, then I thank you for your support. You will receive all the perks this donkey can muster.

The Mayor of Minooka, Illinois reads poetry to People Magazine’s Sexiest Man Alive Moustache Edition 2012 circa 1974 I’m guessing. Photo: Likely Mom
9 Comments
Donkey Thoughts with Nick Offerman
Donkey Thoughts with Nick Offerman
Authors
Nick Offerman