Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
11

I Am A Comedy

You too can art!
11

Kathy Woudzia of Vancouver, British Columbia, asks,

Hi Nick. I stumbled across this podcast and am so happy I did. I too am a huge P&R fan and Ron Swanson was one of my favourite characters and in particular, his alter ego, Duke Silver. I also happen to be from Vancouver, Canada & have been a librarian lol. However my dad was a woodworker, musician, artist and hunter, and yes, we used every part of the animal.

I also loved your character in We’re the Millers. I took my now deceased daughter to watch the movie when it first came out, and I have never seen her laughing so hard. It was a memory I’ll cherish and never forget. Thank you for that.

I will also say that watching Parks & Rec was a way for me to escape my grief—I watched all seasons twice over within 1 1/2 years. Comic relief is important for mental health. That brings me to my questions. What drove you to comedy? When did you first notice you were good at it? Finally, will you ever do a stand up show in Vancouver, Canada?

Kathy, thank you so much for sharing all of this, and I’m so sorry for your loss and subsequent grief.

All I ever wanted to do as a profession was to secure good acting work, bringing good writing to life for an audience, ideally with people I love and enjoy. To my surprise, this pursuit has also led me to write books (and magazine articles and Substack columns), as well as write and tour as a humorist. And while I’m grateful that folks often laugh at my efforts, sometimes even at the right moments, I always feel like I have plenty of room left to improve. That’s why I keep plugging away, in the hopes that I can get better at it. This has not been my most hilarious!

Thanks for letting me know that some of my efforts have landed.

With love,

Thank you very kindly, muleteers, for your support. If you’d like to see the whole video or leave a question in the comments, then please consider becoming a paid subscriber. In any case, don’t forget to measure twice. xo

11 Comments
Donkey Thoughts with Nick Offerman
Donkey Thoughts with Nick Offerman
Authors
Nick Offerman