Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
12

A Hail Mary

from Captain GoofHeart.
12

Grace Margaret of the internet, and I imagine some royal family or other, asks, “Nick, I appreciate your perspectives greatly, and could listen to that voice read a phone book. Speaking of listening, I'm curious how you feel about audiobooks vs. paper books vs. E-books?”

I’m not a big fan of staring at screens any more than I have to, Grace Margaret, so I’ll say that e-books are my least favorite of your listed book forms. Although I guess if I was a tree, I’d feel a little more positive about reading off of an iPad, which reminds me of a blurb from the back of Tina Fey’s book:

“Totally worth it.” — Trees.

I talk about the great audio book for Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir (read by the great Ray Porter), and if that link comes up as a UK site, don’t worry about it, just carry on about your business. What would I even be doing in Greenland? Don’t be ridiculous.

All in all, though, Grace Margaret, I just love books. They are probably my favorite of all objects, and I wish that more people would read them, because I think they really help with our collective ability to execute critical thinking and develop common sense.

“The man who can read books and won’t, has no advantage over the man who cannot read.”

This is one of the many adages misattributed to Mark Twain, but whomever said it, I believe it’s true, and not just for men, either.

Love,

These videos are for paid subscribers, so if you’d like to climb onto that particular pleasure vessel, then by all means pony up some filthy lucre. Otherwise you can use your imagination and create your own rambling monologues with a hirsute 52-year-old. Muleteers!

Photo Credit: Megan Mullally ;?)
12 Comments
Donkey Thoughts with Nick Offerman
Donkey Thoughts with Nick Offerman
Authors
Nick Offerman